Top 10 tips for running a 10K

Evening lovers.

Tomorrow is my big 10K run. This is my first long run and although my training has been a bit slack over the last couple of months, I have tried very hard the last two weeks to get myself even slightly ready. I’ve been doing some research the last few days to prepare myself as I feel I need every little help there is to get across that finish line tomorrow. I have compressed a list of my favourite tips that I personally think will carry you the long 6.2miles to the end in a good (ish) time.

If you are running a race soon (or even tomorrow), good luck and I hope this helps!

1) Pick a program (and actually stick to it)

There are many apps/programmes you can choose from that will provide a detailed 5/10/12 week program depending on how much time you have to train. I decided to go with Nike Run Club. They structured a personalised 5 week programme based on my previous workouts, timings and distances. It varies between short and longer runs, and has specific workouts to help improve your speed and stamina. I unfortunately only started my 5 week program 3 weeks before my race so I had some making up to do. Luckily Nike Run lets you edit your run so if life happens and you can’t complete your training for the day you can move your schedule accordingly.

2) Hydrate the day before

The day before your race drink lots and lots of water! Try and avoid any naughty stuff such as coffee, Coke and alcohol (sob). If like me your run is a morning affair you are not going to want to drink too much before the race as you don’t want to be stopping for the toilet or worse have a Paula Radcliffe moment when toilets are not readily available (we all know the moment…). Over-hydrate the day before and don’t forget to re-hydrate straight after!

3) Carb up!

Perfect excuse to treat yourself to a tasty Italian the night before and stock up on your carbs. Bread, pizza, pasta – will all be a great source of energy for your race and you get to pig out without feeling guilty!

Think carefully about your breakfast as well. Porridge and banana is advisable but make sure you have eaten it before and know how your body reacts (as we don’t want any accidents along the way..). Its important to leave enough time for it to settle so be sure to set your alarm early enough.

4) Have a Running partner/playlist

Research as indicated that running with someone else is a great way to keep yourself motivated. Whilst in the training process it will help spur you on to go out and actually run if you know you will be going with someone else. At times during the run when you may be struggling, having someone next to you to help you along and push you past the hard part is always useful. Unfortunately for me I don’t have any one to run with. If this is the case for you then make sure you have a great music playlist downloaded ready to get you to that finish line. Give it a test run just to make sure it has the right beat and tempo that you need to keep you going. And be sure it is long enough to complete the race with you, otherwise the last mile might be a struggle. I personally like to make sure it is loud enough so I can’t hear my breathing – that way I don’t focus on that, I just breathe as best as I can and run.

5) Know your course

Know the course you are running. If you have time i’d advise doing a test run round the course. Know if its flat, up hill or down hill and be sure to adjust your training to this. If your course contains numerous hills make sure when you train you fit some hills into it. Otherwise your body and legs won’t know how to tackle them and how to recover successfully. This is the same for down-hill as well. Don’t go storming down hill if you don’t know how to steady out at the bottom.

6) Stick to what you know

On race day make sure you run how you have trained. Eat the same, drink the same and run the same. Don’t try and run faster than you have trained. stick to your usually pace rather than compete with faster runners around you. You do not want to burn out in the fast 5k. If you feel good towards the end then definitely speed up and finish strong!

Once you have found you steady pace, look around and find a fellow runner also running at a similar pace. Stick with them or even pretend you are chasing after them (not in a creepy way of course!). This should try and keep you motivated and not let you slack off when it starts to get really hard.

7) Warm up

Most races offer a free group warm up before the run to get your muscles loose and relaxed. This will help you run a good first 5k rather than spend the first mile warming up at a slower pace. Warm ups can include some light jogging pre-race, short bursts of fast running, stretching and some aerobics. Warming up will help prevent your carves from hurting from the get on. Research has shown that stretching your torso should prevent you getting a stitch, which is every runners worst nightmare (I will definitely be trying this one).

8) Avoid Alcohol

Although it pains me to say it as wine is my best friend – Avoid alcohol a few days before your run. Let your body detox and be in the perfect form for your race. A heavy head is not going to help you achieve your best result. Be sure to have someone waiting for you at the finish line with a bottle of red and a straw – you deserve it!

9) Sleep well

Be sure to get your full recommended 8 hours of sleep the night before. Your body needs to be fully rested to perform at its best. Its basic science.

10) Walk it off

Grab some water, get in some calories and go for a walk. An easy 20-minute walk will help your recovery. Not cooling down properly will give you stiff legs and you won’t be able to walk properly for a week. Going to work Monday morning walking like a cowboy that’s shit himself, you’re just asking for jokes really -you definitely don’t want that! Be sure to walk it off!

 

I hope this helps. I’m not a professional but I am hoping this simple guide will make my experience a little easier (i’m going to need all the help I can get). Last thing to remember is to just relax, breathe and enjoy it (well try to anyway).

Good luck fellow runner and give it your best shot!

 

G.

P.S. If you are running the Woman’s Series 10K tomorrow around Finsbury Park (London) look at for the girl dying after a couple of miles – that’ll be me!

P.P.S. I am running for Headway Charity – Find my donating page here.

Leave a comment